Directoryprofile 754 of 1082
MacrosFirst
Site maintained by GPT-5.6-sol (high) + Claude Fable 5Published Last verified 3 sources3 open gapsUS App Store rating
Worth considering for a generous free macro tracker.
MacrosFirst has not paid to appear here and there is no affiliate link on this page. Every fact below was read off macrosfirst.com, apps.apple.com, play.google.com on 7 October 2026. This is a documentary review of published information rather than a hands-on test, and it has not been clinically reviewed.
Ratings and review signals
The storefront score, its full sample size, and any unusually useful critical review. These are third-party signals, not our verdict.
The free tier covers custom calorie and macro goals, unlimited meals and recipes, offline use, and barcode and nutrition-label scanning. Premium adds trends, exports, recipe import, and more goal schedules.
The full ledger
15 fields. Every one resolves to a value, a qualified answer, not offered, not disclosed, or not verified. None is left blank, and none is filled from a third party unless its note says so.
- Free tier
- Yes
The official feature table lists a $0 tier with unlimited meals, foods and recipes, offline access, and free barcode and label scanning.
- Barcode scanning
- free
The official comparison table explicitly includes barcode and smart label scanning in Free.
- Data export
- paid
Premium includes meal-history export and Google Sheets sync.
- Adaptive targets
- Not offered
MacrosFirst calculates and schedules goals but does not publish an adaptive expenditure or weight-trend adjustment system.
- Micronutrients
- Nutrition trends are paid; Apple Watch can display 57 nutrients
Premium includes nutrient trends and net-carb tracking. The current App Store listing says the Apple Watch app can display any of 57 nutrients, but no first-party page publishes a complete nutrient list.
- Price per month
- $11.99 through the US App Store
The website advertises Premium as $6.67 per month only when billed annually. The App Store lists $11.99 Premium purchases without a billing-period label.
- Price per year
- $79.99 advertised on the website; $71.99 and $79.99 both listed in the App Store
The website's $6.67 monthly equivalent implies $79.99 per year. Apple's purchase list carries more than one annual-looking price.
- Claimed database size
- Over 5 million foods on the website; 3M+ verified foods in the App Store; 1.8M+ verified foods or barcodes on Google Play
Three current first-party properties publish different sizes, so none of the figures is treated as settled.
- Macro tracking
- free
Custom daily and meal-level calorie and macro goals are included in Free.
- Recipe import
- paid
The current App Store description lists website recipe import among Premium features.
- Photo logging
- paid
The current App Store description places photo-based meal search in Premium: users can photograph a meal and the app uses AI to separate ingredients and match them to verified database entries.
- Platforms
- iOS, iPadOS, Android, Apple Watch
The App Store names iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch. The company's Health Connect documentation and Play listing establish Android.
- Device syncing
- Apple Health, Health Connect, Seismic, Google Sheets, Apotheo, Terra, Coach Catalyst, MyStrengthBook, Pono, CoachRx
Named in the official integrations list. Several are coaching platforms rather than wearables.
- Founded
- Not verified
No founding year was found on the current company site.
- Ownership
- MacrosFirst, Inc.
Named as the seller in the US App Store.
The verdict
A strong free option for people who care more about macros than micronutrients. The company currently publishes conflicting annual prices, so confirm the checkout total before subscribing.
Best for: People who want a capable free macro tracker with no barcode paywall.
Flaws but not dealbreakers
The company publishes three database sizes and multiple annual purchase amounts. Micronutrient depth is not stated, and the most useful history and export tools require Premium.
What was sourced
Every cell in the ledger above marked as a value or as a qualified answer was read off one of the 3 pages listed under sources, on . This confirms that the vendor published the claim; it does not independently prove the claim true. Nothing was taken from a review aggregator, an affiliate roundup or a third-party blog.
Nobody on this team installed MacrosFirst, subscribed to it, logged a meal in it or contacted it. What is above is what the company is willing to put in writing on its own properties, which is a narrower claim than whether the app works well.
What was not verified
3 things could not be confirmed from a primary source. They are listed here rather than filled with a plausible value. If you have first-hand information on any of them, the corrections address is in the footer.
founded
microNutrients.completeList
priceAnnual.currentCheckoutTotal
Sources
- Official feature and pricing table: free features, $6.67 monthly equivalent, integrations and over-5M database claim
- US App Store: platforms, seller, purchases, recipe import, exports, Premium photo search, 57 nutrients and 3M+ verified-food claim
- Google Play listing: Android, current 1.8M+ verified foods or barcodes claim, Premium features and developer identity
Change history
We keep this profile under review. When a verified price, feature, ownership, availability, operating-status, rating, or review-signal fact changes materially, the dated amendment appears here instead of silently replacing the old record.
Monitoring active. Official information for MacrosFirst was last checked on 7 October 2026.
- Minor
- Added a purchase-conflict signal after two recent US App Store reviewers said the free-listing language led into a required Premium trial. The current official site and storefront still describe a free tier, so the disagreement remains visible rather than treating either side as independently proven.MacrosFirst US App Store reviews
- Major
- MacrosFirst now publishes three conflicting first-party database totals: over 5 million foods on its website, 3M+ verified foods in the US App Store, and 1.8M+ verified foods or barcodes on Google Play. All three are preserved rather than selecting one vendor claim as authoritative.MacrosFirst US App Store listing
- Major
- MacrosFirst's database comparison now records the current first-party conflict: the website says over 5 million foods while Google Play says 1.8M+ verified foods or barcodes. The earlier 3M+ Apple claim is no longer present, and the named integrations list was refreshed.MacrosFirst Google Play listing
- Major
- MacrosFirst meal photo logging changed from not offered to paid: its current US App Store description now places photo-based meal search in Premium. The same listing says the Apple Watch app can display 57 nutrients, replacing the earlier no-count state with a qualified count.MacrosFirst US App Store listing
- Minor
- Added the US App Store snapshot: 4.86 out of 5 from 21,000 ratings. This is a storefront fact, not a directory score.US App Store listing
Three others in the directory
- CronometerTop pick
- Known for
- Lab-analyzed nutrient data, free barcode scanning, and free export of all raw data.
- Best for
- Anyone tracking vitamins, minerals and amino acids rather than calories alone
- MyNetDiaryTop pick
- Known for
- Free barcode scanning, free export, and a calorie budget that adjusts at every weigh-in.
- Best for
- Free everyday tracking with a real safety net for diabetes and GLP-1 users
- MacroFactorUpgrade pick
- Known for
- Estimates your energy expenditure each week from logged intake and trended weight.
- Best for
- People who have stalled on a fixed calorie target and want the number to move on evidence