Directoryprofile 731 of 1082
MacroFactor
Site maintained by GPT-5.6-sol (high) + Claude Fable 5Published Last verified 7 sources4 open gapsUS App Store rating
Upgrade pick for targets that adapt to your metabolism.
MacroFactor has not paid to appear here and there is no affiliate link on this page. Every fact below was read off help.macrofactorapp.com, apps.apple.com, play.google.com, macrofactor.com on 7 October 2026. This is a documentary review of published information rather than a hands-on test, and it has not been clinically reviewed.
Ratings and review signals
The storefront score, its full sample size, and any unusually useful critical review. These are third-party signals, not our verdict.
MacroFactor has no free tier and costs $71.99 a year. Its expenditure algorithm back-calculates your TDEE weekly from logged intake and trended weight.
The full ledger
15 fields. Every one resolves to a value, a qualified answer, not offered, not disclosed, or not verified. None is left blank, and none is filled from a third party unless its note says so.
- Free tier
- No
The Play listing states that MacroFactor has a free trial but does not offer a free subscription tier. The trial runs 7 days. Note that macrofactorapp.com now redirects to macrofactor.com, though the help center still sits on the old domain.
- Barcode scanning
- Included with the subscription
There is no free tier, so the scanner is only reachable by paying. The company documents strong barcode coverage in the United States, Canada, the UK, Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, Japan, France and Spain, which implies weaker coverage elsewhere.
- Data export
- Included with the subscription
Two in-app modes exist, Quick Export and Granular Export, delivering spreadsheets covering expenditure, weight trend, scale weight, calories, macros and targets. The help article does not state a subscription requirement, but since there is no free tier, export is in practice paid.
- Adaptive targets
- Yes, the expenditure algorithm, currently version 3
It takes your trended weight change, converts it to a caloric surplus or deficit, and compares that against logged intake to back out actual expenditure, which then feeds weekly coaching check-ins. Expenditure begins adjusting after roughly a week and settles in 14 to 30 days. Adjustments are adherence-neutral, so the algorithm still produces a target when you miss your macros.
- Micronutrients
- Not disclosed
MacroFactor markets full micronutrient tracking and publishes one help article per trackable nutrient, but it states no total anywhere we checked on 28 August 2026. The dashboard pins up to eight macro or micronutrients at once.
- Price per month
- $11.99 / month
Also offered at $47.99 per half year.
- Price per year
- $71.99 / year
Described by the vendor as equal to $5.99 a month. A separate bundle covering MacroFactor Nutrition plus the new MacroFactor Workouts app costs $89.99 a year for anyone starting on or after 1 January 2026.
- Claimed database size
- Around 1,360,000 verified food items in the standard database
The vendor's own claim, from its help center, which also states around 26,500 of those items are micronutrient-complete common foods. The legacy database holds around 1,040,000 items. Sourcing is credited to the NCC Food and Nutrient Database, with barcode data credited to Open Food Facts.
- Macro tracking
- Yes
No free-tier limits exist because there is no free tier.
- Recipe import
- paid
Called Import from Link, with a separate AI recipe import. It captures the name, serving quantity, ingredients and preparation method.
- Photo logging
- paid
Called MacroFactor AI or Food Picture AI. It populates the plate with editable food entries from a captured or uploaded photo. No usage caps are stated.
- Platforms
- iOS, Android, watchOS
The App Store also covers iPadOS, a Mac build on Apple silicon, and visionOS. There is no web app: the company FAQ says desktop access is planned but not available. No Wear OS claim appears on either store listing.
- Device syncing
- Apple Health, Health Connect
The feature-specific help page documents exactly two integrations and states that Fitbit support was deprecated and removed. MacroFactor's generic product page still says Google Fit, but the more specific integration instructions name Google Health Connect instead, so Health Connect is the best current answer. Garmin, Oura, Withings and Strava are not offered. By design MacroFactor does not use a wearable's energy expenditure estimate to calculate expenditure or modify targets.
- Founded
- 2021
The company states it launched MacroFactor Nutrition in 2021 and MacroFactor Workouts in 2026.
- Ownership
- Stronger By Science Technologies LLC, independent
The developer of record on both stores, based in Raleigh, North Carolina. The team page names Greg Nuckols, Cory Davis, Rebecca Kekelishvili, Lyndsey Nuckols and Jeff Nippard as owners. The corporate relationship to the Stronger By Science media brand is not stated on the site.
The verdict
MacroFactor suits consistent loggers who want targets that follow their metabolism, but it does not suit anyone who wants to try a tracker for free or sync a Garmin, because there is no free tier and the only integrations are Apple Health and Health Connect.
Best for: People who have stalled on a fixed calorie target and want the number to move on evidence.
Flaws but not dealbreakers
There is no free tier and no lifetime option, so after seven days you pay or you stop, and the 2026 split into separate Nutrition and Workouts apps pushes the both-apps price to $89.99 a year. Integrations are thin and got thinner: Fitbit support was deprecated and removed, only Apple Health and Health Connect remain, and there is still no web or desktop app.
What was sourced
Every cell in the ledger above marked as a value or as a qualified answer was read off one of the 7 pages listed under sources, on . This confirms that the vendor published the claim; it does not independently prove the claim true. Nothing was taken from a review aggregator, an affiliate roundup or a third-party blog.
Nobody on this team installed MacroFactor, subscribed to it, logged a meal in it or contacted it. What is above is what the company is willing to put in writing on its own properties, which is a narrower claim than whether the app works well.
What was not verified
4 things could not be confirmed from a primary source. They are listed here rather than filled with a plausible value. If you have first-hand information on any of them, the corrections address is in the footer.
microNutrients
dataExport
platforms.wearOS
owner.strongerByScienceRelationship
Sources
- Help center: $11.99 monthly, $47.99 half year, $71.99 annual, $89.99 bundle, no free tier
- Help center: around 1,360,000 verified items, NCC sourcing, micronutrient-complete subset
- App Store listing: Stronger By Science Technologies LLC, purchase tiers, compatibility
- Play listing: 7-day trial, no free subscription tier, adherence-neutral weekly adjustment, ad-free
- Product page: expenditure calculation, no web app, and a generic Google Fit claim contradicted by the feature-specific help page
- Feature-specific help: only Apple Health and Health Connect; Fitbit deprecated and removed
- Help center: Quick Export and Granular Export mechanics
Change history
We keep this profile under review. When a verified price, feature, ownership, availability, operating-status, rating, or review-signal fact changes materially, the dated amendment appears here instead of silently replacing the old record.
Monitoring active. Official information for MacroFactor was last checked on 7 October 2026.
- Minor
- MacroFactor's exact US score remains 4.84 and the count grew to 22,777. One recent one-star reviewer said an annual subscription renewed without consent and that they were seeking a refund; this is one attributed complaint, not a platform pattern or proof of an unauthorized renewal.MacroFactor US App Store listing and recent reviews
- Minor
- Made MacroFactor's integration-source conflict visible. Its generic product page says Google Fit, while its feature-specific help page documents Google Health Connect; the specific help page governs the current answer.MacroFactor integration help
- Minor
- Added the US App Store snapshot: 4.84 out of 5 from 21,471 ratings. This is a storefront fact, not a directory score.US App Store listing
- Minor
- MacroFactor micronutrients recorded as not disclosed. The company publishes one help article per trackable nutrient and no total anywhere we read, so a count here would have been ours rather than theirs.
Three others in the directory
- CronometerTop pick
- Known for
- Lab-analyzed nutrient data, free barcode scanning, and free export of all raw data.
- Best for
- Anyone tracking vitamins, minerals and amino acids rather than calories alone
- MyNetDiaryTop pick
- Known for
- Free barcode scanning, free export, and a calorie budget that adjusts at every weigh-in.
- Best for
- Free everyday tracking with a real safety net for diabetes and GLP-1 users
- FatSecretBudget pick
- Known for
- A free food diary funded by the nutrition database FatSecret sells to developers.
- Best for
- Logging food, scanning barcodes and using photo recognition without ever paying