Directoryprofile 701 of 1082
Lose It!
Site maintained by GPT-5.6-sol (high) + Claude Fable 5Published Last verified 8 sources6 open gaps1 conflicting claimUS App Store rating
Worth considering for a one-time lifetime purchase.
Lose It! has not paid to appear here and there is no affiliate link on this page. Every fact below was read off loseit.zendesk.com, apps.apple.com, play.google.com, loseit.com on 7 October 2026. This is a documentary review of published information rather than a hands-on test, and it has not been clinically reviewed.
Ratings and review signals
The storefront score, its full sample size, and any unusually useful critical review. These are third-party signals, not our verdict.
FitNow joined Ziff Davis in 2022. Premium is $79.99 a year, Lifetime is $299.99, and the company is moving its barcode scanner out of the free tier.
The full ledger
15 fields. Every one resolves to a value, a qualified answer, not offered, not disclosed, or not verified. None is left blank, and none is filled from a third party unless its note says so.
- Free tier
- Yes
Lose It! Basic costs $0 and includes a personalized daily calorie budget and database access, but the Play listing narrows the free feature list to calorie tracking, a weight loss plan and community support. The free app runs full-page interstitial ads, and removing them is a separate one-time purchase rather than something Premium covers.
- Barcode scanning
- paid, mid-migration
The company states it is moving the barcode scanner, called Scan It, and the nutrition label scanner into Premium, that some free members still have access during the transition while others do not, and that once locked, Premium is required. It is also English-language only. Any source calling barcode scanning free on Lose It! is describing a state that is ending.
- Data export
- Available on the web, one way only
The help article explains how to export account history from loseit.com and states plainly that importing data is not possible. You sign in at my.loseit.com and the download starts from an export URL. Whether export requires Premium is not stated in that article. Custom goal data must be exported goal by goal with no date range.
- Adaptive targets
- Not offered
The budget is a static formula: BMR from weight, height, age and sex, multiplied by a four-level activity factor, minus a fixed deficit of 250, 500, 750 or 1000 calories for half a pound to two pounds a week. It changes only when your weight changes. Logged intake is never an input to the budget, and no published mechanism infers expenditure from intake against a weight trend.
- Micronutrients
- 26 total: 8 with custom goals, 18 view-only
The eight goal-trackable nutrients are carbohydrates, cholesterol, fat, fiber, protein, saturated fat, sodium and sugar. The other 18 cover monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fat, trans fat, vitamins A, C, B1, B2, B3, B6, B9 and B12, calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, zinc and caffeine. The company states you cannot set dedicated goals for those 18.
- Price per month
- Not disclosed
No monthly price appears on loseit.com or anywhere in the help center. A monthly plan is alluded to once, in an article about FSA and HSA eligibility. The App Store shows unlabeled purchase amounts of $9.99, $11.99, $19.99, $23.99, $29.99, $39.99 and $79.99 with no durations attached.
- Price per year
- $79.99 USD / Year (Auto-renews annually)
Quoted from the official membership tiers article. Lifetime access costs $299.99 for free or Basic accounts and $229.99 for active Premium members. The company also discloses that it adjusts prices based on factors including seasonal promotions and how often you use the app, so any single figure is a list price.
- Claimed database size
- 50M+ foods claimed on the membership tiers page
All vendor claims, and four different numbers are live at once: 50M+ and over 32 million on the how-it-works page, 56+ million on both store listings, and over 60 million in a help article. Treat any single figure as unreliable.
- Macro tracking
- Visible free, goal-setting is Premium
Advanced tracking of protein, carbs, fat and sugar sits under Premium on the Play listing, and custom nutrient targets are Premium per the membership tiers article. Whether free users can set macro goals at all is not stated.
- Recipe import
- Not verified
A URL-based Recipe Importer exists with a text-paste fallback, documented through its troubleshooting article. Whether it is free or Premium is not stated in that article or in the main recipes article, checked 28 August 2026. The recipes article says only that all users can create recipes manually.
- Photo logging
- paid
Called Snap It. The company states it is exclusively available to Premium members and only when the device language is English. Its siblings Scan It for barcodes and Say It for voice carry the same two restrictions.
- Platforms
- iOS, Android, Web, watchOS
The App Store covers iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, a Mac build on Apple silicon and visionOS. Android and Chromebook come from the Play listing. The web app is at my.loseit.com and handles logging, recipes and export. Wear OS is not claimed.
- Device syncing
- Apple Health, Apple Watch, Google Fit, Health Connect, Fitbit, Garmin, Withings, Strava, Nike+, MapMyFitness, Runkeeper, Misfit
Each has a dedicated help article. Automatic syncing with smartwatches and fitness trackers is itself listed as a Premium feature. Oura is not named anywhere. There is an ongoing Fitbit to Google Health transition with documented workarounds.
- Founded
- 2008
The about page states Lose It! was created in 2008 to simplify calorie counting.
- Ownership
- Everyday Health Group, a division of Ziff Davis, Inc.
The about page states Lose It! joined Everyday Health Group in 2022, and the site footer reads FitNow, Inc., a Ziff Davis company. FitNow, Inc. remains the operating entity and the developer of record on both stores, but the app is no longer independent.
Where Lose It! contradicts itself
1 question on which the company publishes more than one answer. Every figure is shown, then the directory explains whether source precedence supports a current answer and how much the discrepancy matters. All were live on 7 October 2026.
How big the food database is
Lose It!Marketing claim4 published answers
- 32M+
- How it works page, loseit.com
- 60M+
- Help centre article, loseit.zendesk.com
Still unresolved — here is how to use it
Treat the count as marketing, not a quality measure. Four incompatible unaudited totals cannot support a product decision.
The verdict
Lose It! suits people who would rather buy a tracker once for $299.99 than rent it forever, but it does not suit free users, because photo, voice and barcode logging are all Premium and all English-only.
Best for: Long-term trackers who want to pay once rather than renew every year.
Flaws but not dealbreakers
Lose It! is actively moving features out of the free tier, and it says so in its own words about the barcode and nutrition label scanners, with an uneven rollout where some free members keep access and others lose it. Its own pages publish four different database sizes at once, from 32 million to over 60 million, and all three fast-logging features work only when the device language is set to English.
What was sourced
Every cell in the ledger above marked as a value or as a qualified answer was read off one of the 8 pages listed under sources, on . This confirms that the vendor published the claim; it does not independently prove the claim true. Nothing was taken from a review aggregator, an affiliate roundup or a third-party blog.
Nobody on this team installed Lose It!, subscribed to it, logged a meal in it or contacted it. What is above is what the company is willing to put in writing on its own properties, which is a narrower claim than whether the app works well.
What was not verified
6 things could not be confirmed from a primary source. They are listed here rather than filled with a plausible value. If you have first-hand information on any of them, the corrections address is in the footer.
priceMonthly
dataExport.tierRequirement
recipeImport
macroTracking.freeGoalSetting
foodDatabaseSize
wearableIntegrations.oura
Sources
- Membership tiers: Basic $0, Premium $79.99 a year, Lifetime $299.99 or $229.99, 50M+ database
- Help center: web-only export from loseit.com, importing not possible
- Help center: barcode and label scanners moving into Premium, uneven transition, English only
- Help center: eight goal-trackable nutrients plus 18 view-only micronutrients
- Help center: BMR times activity factor minus a fixed deficit, confirming the budget is not adaptive
- App Store listing: FitNow, Inc., compatibility, unlabeled purchase tiers, Snap It
- Play listing: free basics versus Premium features, contains ads label, named device integrations
- About page: created 2008, joined Everyday Health Group and Ziff Davis in 2022
Change history
We keep this profile under review. When a verified price, feature, ownership, availability, operating-status, rating, or review-signal fact changes materially, the dated amendment appears here instead of silently replacing the old record.
Monitoring active. Official information for Lose It! was last checked on 7 October 2026.
- Minor
- Extended Lose It!'s purchase-risk signal through October 5: four recent one-star US App Store reviewers described an unexpected renewal charge or difficulty finding a clear cancellation path. This remains a small attributed pattern, not a claim about every subscriber.Lose It! US App Store reviews
- Minor
- Extended Lose It!'s renewal and cancellation signal through October 2 after a third recent one-star reviewer said charges continued and they could not find a cancellation route. This is a small attributed pattern, not proof of the allegations, and no developer response was visible.Lose It! US App Store reviews
- Minor
- Lose It!'s exact US score remains 4.77 and the count grew to 779,136. A second recent one-star reviewer said an annual charge was not visible in Apple subscriptions, turning the prior single renewal complaint into a small two-review pattern; it is not treated as representative.Lose It! US App Store listing and recent reviews
- Minor
- Added a one-review signal about an annual charge that the reviewer said did not appear in Apple subscriptions and was canceled through the website without a same-day refund. It is a purchase condition to verify, not a representative pattern.Lose It! US App Store reviews
- Minor
- Added the US App Store snapshot: 4.77 out of 5 from 774,007 ratings. This is a storefront fact, not a directory score.US App Store listing
- Correction
- Lose It! Premium is recorded at $79.99 a year, quoted from the company's own membership tiers article. The affiliate roundups used to build the candidate list still carry $39.99, and the company page does not.
- Major
- Lose It! barcode scanning moved from a plain value to a conditional cell. The company states it is moving the barcode and nutrition label scanners into Premium, that some free members still have access during the transition and others do not, and that once locked, Premium is required.
- Major
- Ownership recorded as Everyday Health Group, a division of Ziff Davis. FitNow, Inc. remains the operating entity and the developer of record, but the about page states Lose It! joined Everyday Health Group in 2022.
Three others in the directory
- CronometerTop pick
- Known for
- Lab-analyzed nutrient data, free barcode scanning, and free export of all raw data.
- Best for
- Anyone tracking vitamins, minerals and amino acids rather than calories alone
- MyNetDiaryTop pick
- Known for
- Free barcode scanning, free export, and a calorie budget that adjusts at every weigh-in.
- Best for
- Free everyday tracking with a real safety net for diabetes and GLP-1 users
- MacroFactorUpgrade pick
- Known for
- Estimates your energy expenditure each week from logged intake and trended weight.
- Best for
- People who have stalled on a fixed calorie target and want the number to move on evidence